Celebrating Moms!

Warning: This is going to be a little longer of a post then normal! It’s worth it though, I hope.
Hey everyone! How has your week been going? Mother’s Day was last Sunday for those of us in the U.S. How did you all spoil your moms or, if you are a mom, how did your family spoil you? I hope it was a great day for all of you moms out there!

I’m a mom to a little four legged puppy but I got a Mother’s Day gift this year. I had to work the day before Mother’s Day and a pastor brought in a ton of lovely carnation flowers for all the moms at the nursing home. It was so sweet and they are beautiful flowers! Well after he gave all the moms one, he had some left over so he offered them to the mothers that were working. He offered me one and I told him “Thank you but I’m not a mom” to which he replied “Well you can have one anyway because you look like a mom to me!”

Pretty Pink Carnation

Pretty Pink Carnation

How adorable and cute is this pink carnation!? I love it and it has spent the last four days sitting on the kitchen table making the whole kitchen look super cute!

So what did I do for my mom to celebrate? I bought my mom some nice, expensive vanilla from a little local(!) shop in town that she has been drooling over for a while and I made her cupcakes! They also happen to be this week’s super yummy cupcakes!

Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Say hello to the scrumptious carrot cake cupcake! This cake is moist and delicious! Instead of using shredded carrots in the recipe, I tried my hand at homemade baby food! To really make a carrot cake perfect, try steaming slices of carrots until they are soft then toss them in the blender (or food processor) and slowly add a tablespoon of the water you steamed them with until you have them looking like baby food, soft and creamy. Add this to your cake mixture and you’ll have crowds of people begging you to make more! I topped mine off with smooth cream cheese frosting and it was the perfect pair! I only make a half a batch (12) of cupcakes when I make my weekly cupcakes and they usually don’t last long, about two days. These carrot cake cupcakes though were going in 24 hours this week!

I’ve got a question for all you readers. I’ll always post weekly on Thursday for the Cupcake of the Week but there are so many more wonderful yummy treats in the world of baking that I want to share with you all! Would you be up for unscheduled extra post every so often of non-cupcake baked goods? I’d love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below, email me at whitelilycupcakes@hotmail.com, or leave a comment on the Facebook page White Lily Cupcakes and let me know! You can also follow me on Bloglovin’ (http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/7220849/white-lily-cupcakes) so you never miss a post!
I can’t wait till next week! It’s bridal week here on White Lily Cupcakes and I have two fun, new, stylish things to show off along with the cupcake of the week! I think that’s all for this week though. I hope you all have a great week and do some fun things this weekend!

Always,
Melissa

Leave a Reply

